Collective Memory (2012)

I. Thoughts on the Future
II. The Common Grackle
IV. Outvention
V. Thoughts on the Past

fl., sop. sax.


composed for Taylor Barbay and Christian Gonzalez.

Program Notes
Collective Memory is for flute and soprano saxophone and it is based on memories that the composer shares with family, friends, and the Western culture in general. “The Common Grackle” arose after overhearing a conversation between two birds in the composer’s hometown of Cooper City, FL. “NGUNS” is a somber reflection on the life of a childhood friend who passed much too soon. And “Outvention” is a playful and modern take on a very old but familiar style of composition. These memories are situated between two musical “thoughts” that project and reflect on the prevailing themes of the work.